Mustard, murder and …killer clowns?

Hello all!

Well, it has definitely been a while since I’ve posted anything and I figured with the upcoming Memorial Day weekend already looming overhead, what better time to crack open a cold one, roast some-“thing” on the grill and pay homage to those that gave their lives to protect our rights.  So please remember: that beer you’re enjoying, that brat that now is staining your shirt with pickle relish and mustard… none of it would be possible without the bravery and dedication of our armed forces.  So take a minute to remember our fallen this weekend.

With that, it has been an interesting couple of months.  I will first address the main question which is, “Yes, the wedding plans are going well.”  It truly helps to marry a teacher whose inner being practically SCREAMS spreadsheets and organization.  So things are moving right along … according to her time sheets anyways.  Although I haven’t heard back on my Spider-Man vest yet for the wedding – may need to make a call or two on that.

With the wedding and working a 9-5 that feels more like 5-9 (yes I stole that from a commercial) I haven’t had a lot of time to write as much as I’d like, but I’ve still been busy here and there (aren’t we all?).  I just had a short story entitled “Need a Hand?” released recently for the anthology, “Whacked!  An Anthology of Murder” (You can pick up the paperback/kindle version HERE). 

This is a far (well, not too far) departure from what I usually write about.  True there is mostly a spoonful of murder with each helping of writing that I do, but this is a more subtle noir tale than anything I’ve done before.  I won’t give too much away, but the inspiration for this story literally came from my old apartment complex rolling up old carpeting and resting it on the side of the dumpster – I’ll let you fill in the blanks after that.

With today being such a bright sunny day out – I’ve decided to take the rest of the day and “work” from home.  We’ll see how much work I actually get done – but I will be doing some very, VERY tedious paperwork while also indulging in a nice 1989 murder slasher called “Out of the Dark” (Check it out HERE). 

This is probably one of the worst movies ever – but would definitely be considered a guilty pleasure.  There is nudity, vulgarity, a killer in a clown costume, cops, models and don’t even get me started on the ending.  However, this movie has all the right elements for a nice enjoyable – yet brain-dead – movie that I will happily enjoy with some popcorn while going over reports that mean absolutely nothing to me for this weekend.

So in closing, pop a top, grab a brat and enjoy the weather as I hope your weekend will be as killer as mine will. 

~ Neil A. Kloster

 

 

Leave a Reply

